More and more city workers are deciding to live in the country and travel to work every day. The result is increased traffic congestion and damage to the environment.

What measures do you think could be taken to encourage people not to travel such long distance into work?

There is an increase in the number of people who used to work in metropolitan regions, choose to live in their countryside and commute to their workplace daily. As a result, being stuck in traffic is more common and it also affects the ecosystem. In this essay, I will draw some solutions to inspire individuals not to travel to work in a long distance.

The first action is to improve the life quality there. For instance, a serious criminal issue, which creates a sense of danger in most citizens, is one of the main reasons why they want to leave cities and decide to move to peaceful, safe places where urban areas may not provide. The administration could employ more policemen to control the streets. In addition, a more welcoming and friendly work environment should be made to reduce issues including gender inequality, racism, or sexual abuse. This way could encourage people to stay rather than move out.

Another measure to tackle this problem is to create more job opportunities in the rural areas. In countries such as Vietnam, Thailand, and Indonesia, international companies are pushed by the government to invest in smaller towns. By being offered in these firms, the labor will not have to face long-distance trips to go to work, and conurbation will also reduce traffic congestion, even environmental pollution.

In conclusion, despite the presence of challenges, various keys could be undertaken to resolve the issue and make the destination more worth living, not just to work.