More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, the booming of technology brought more conveniences for all strata and one of the most benefits is that accelerating enterprises enable their staff to perform jobs at their homes instead of going to offices on a daily basis. As far as I am concerned, there are advantages of this trend than its drawbacks. In the following essay, I will present reasons to demonstrate my opinions.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that living in the technological era causes a number of disadvantages to people, especially employees. In particular, telecommunicating is a key contributing factor behind the deteriorating sense of community and limit interaction between workers with their colleagues because these individuals have a tendency to use the cutting edge devices such as mobiles, laptops, tablets to communicate with others rather than face-to-face contact. Therefore their communicational skill may be reduced and they feel to be isolated in the crowd, which means the mentioned issue leads to widening the distance between them and other members of the society, even their relations.

On the other hand, in spite of obvious negatives of this phenomenon, however, its perks play a vital role which contributes to employees, their firms and the community. Firstly, the rise in the abundance of workers who telework for organizations not only helps themselves and their companies to save time and the cost for the commute from and to their house but also has a flexible schedule. As a result, these people have more free time for their favor and study in order to gain more qualifications which pave the way for their career path. Secondly, the more people telecommunicate the more traffic problems might be decreased since working at home results in the traveling frequency and the number of vehicles on the road will be declined. Thus, the amount of gas emission of means of transportation is also reduced.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the benefits stem from teleworking are greater than its demerits. Hence, the government should enact a suitable policy to stimulate workers remotely.