More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

With the advances of technology and the Internet, an increasing number of corporations encourage their employees to work from home for the last few decades. This number shows exponential growth since the start of the pandemic at the beginning of 2020. It should be seen as a positive development since it provides employee flexibility and reduces the company's overhead cost.

The most important aspect of working from home is the flexibility which it offers. This means to say each person has their own unique experience with remote working and finding what works or does not work. For example, an employee can take a break or lunch at their desired time, or feel no rush to hang up on family members if they call. Moreover, they can save a lot of money and time daily just being not driving and getting caught in traffic. This way employee avoids paying the high price of parking as well as buying lunch and coffee. Therefore, remote working can be seen as the right choice for employees.

The biggest remote working advantages for enterprise employers revolve around generating revenue and employee productivity. Working from home can save a lot for a company in commercial space rental, electricity, and water bill, interior decoration, and overhead personnel. Ultimately at the end of the fiscal year, this working culture leads to generate profit on the company’s behalf. In addition, studies show that people working at home are 20%-25% more effective and productive than their office counterparts. Not only are there fewer social distractions, but there are also opportunities to take a necessary break when needed which physiologists say helps with overall performance, motivation, and creativity.

In conclusion, remote work has become the new normal for global business and enterprise employers. All in all, this new culture has many positives for both employers and employees as it can improve wellbeing and lower cost.