More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news They get news about the world through the internet Is this a positive or negative development You should write at least 250 words You should use your own idea knowledge and ex

It is observed that a growing number of individuals tend to acquire news online in lieu of physical newspapers and television programs. Although this propensity can trigger the dissemination of misinformation, I believe that its benefits including more timely updates and the provision of a better reading experience are more significant.

On the one hand, I concede that observing news on the Internet can facilitate the spread of misleading information. As online outlets lack fact-checking features, people are free to share information regardless of its authenticity. Consequently, individuals are more likely to be misled. A case in point would be InfoWars, an American conspiracy news site, which has released fake information about COVID-19 in America. Despite this, millions of people shared this information, fueling the conspiracy that the pandemic is fake.

On the other hand, the Internet offers more current updates and a more fascinating experience. In terms of the former, it can deliver the news conveniently at a more rapid pace. For instance, people often use social networks such as Facebook and Twitter to share news and updated articles throughout the day. With a single click, audiences can instantly access the news they need. In contrast, newspapers are only updated daily and require customers to physically purchase them from newstands. Regarding the latter, people can take in information with useful audiovisual elements. For instance, news coverage on the Internet usually uses video footage to illustrate the course of an event as opposed to merely boring texts and pictures in conventional newspapers. As a result, viewers can comprehend that information more easily with less risk that it has been editorialized.

In conclusion, although I admit that the increasing trend of receiving news on the Internet can give rise to the spread of false information, I maintain it is overall more beneficial as it provides users with faster updates and better experiences. In the near future, I believe that Internet security should be strengthened to lessen the amount of fake news disseminated.