More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries.

Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, there is a significant increase in opting to pursue a higher education abroad. While this development has some disadvantages, I believe that this has more benefits than drawbacks.

To begin with, studying in a foreign country might lead to some difficult problems. Living alone in an unfamiliar culture, students could be homesick, and this has a negative impact on their academic performance. My friends those who have studied in several foreign universities, for instance, have faced with the language barrier and found that it is of difficulty expanding their circle of friends. As a result, they on a regular basis have the feeling of homesickness as well as not having good results from school.

However, there are more advantages of studying abroad than its disadvantages. The first reason is that pursuing a higher education in foreign universities allows students to have more opportunities to get high qualifications, so it is easier for them seek a well-paid job after graduation. Therefore, they might have the quality of life better. Additionally, Overseas students are exposed to different cultures and customs, which creates a golden chance for them to broaden their horizons. As a result, based on their knowledge that gained abroad, many of them could run their own tourism company, leading an independent life. Finally, in some science fields, Worldwide universities employ teachers who are experts, so graduates are likely to make a positive contribution to the development of their countries after returning, especially in a developing nation such as Viet Nam.

In conclusion, personally I would argue that there are more benefits of studying abroad than its drawbacks.