More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communitites in poorer countries doing un paid work such as teaching and building houses. Why ? Who benefits more from this, the community or these young people?

It is true that the number of adults in affluent nations who choose to do unpaid jobs in underdeveloped nations has been increasing in many recent years. While there are numerous reasons for this trend, both those youngsters and the host countries could gain enormous benefits from this temporary unpaid work.

One possible reason for doing such no salary work may be because those youngsters want to compensate partially for their forefathers in war due to the fatally irreversible outcomes they had done previously. In Vietnam, for example, each years hundreds of American adult volunteers come to teach or build houses for disabled families who had exposed to agent orange, a powerful mixture of chemical defoliants used by U.S. military forces during the Vietnam War to eliminate forest, as a small compensation. Another probable motivation for those could be due to the fact that they feel some degree of responsibility towards international solidarity. If, for instance, they take part in these voluntary work, then the international relations could be consolidate and the economic gap between the rich and the poor could be eradicated with the passing of time.

As a consequence, thanks to these voluntary work , those adults could stand themself as well as the impoverished nations in good stead. With their efforts as teachers or labourer in construction areas, many schools for the disabled could be erected, illiteracy rate, therefore, would be declined and be no longer a headache for state governments in low-income countries like Africa. Those young volunteers are enthusiastic, devoted, and well-educated, meaning that they could impart their useful knowledge to the underprivileged regions, where state-of-the-art teachnologies are still isolated. In terms of the adults taking part in these meaningful activities, they could gain hands-on experiences from numerous difficulties they have to encounter in poor nations, where the lack of excellent amenities and modern infrastructure is inevitable. Consequently, the more philanthropic actions they are involved in, the more advantages they and the host countries could receive.

In conclusion, the reasons why young generations from high-income countries tend to spend short time in voluntary contribution in poor nations are evident and this trend could benefits both the poor and those adults to some extent.