More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why? Who benefits more from this, the community or these young people?

An ever-increasing number of young people from developed countries are prone to take part in voluntary workds in communities in developing countries. To explain this trend, there are some hidden motives which incline them to do so. Also, I believe that both these young people and the community are equally entitled with benefits.

There are two explainations why youth in wealthy countries are choosing to spend time helping communities in less developed countries. Firstly, some individuals believe that it is a decen work and that is their responsibility to contribute their time and hard work in order to accomplish it. Regadless of teaching or builing house or repairing roads, these young people are always willing to take part in. Secondly, having chance to experience different cultures with exotic customs is another reason young people sign up for these voluntary works. Some of my friends, for example, deciding to work for a project of a non-governement organisation in Malaysia for about a year said they had never felt blessful before since they joined this program.

I think these short but valuable time of working in deprivilged communities brings out benefits for both young people and these communities equally. As for young people, having a certificate of taking part in voluntary work in another country without doubt helps to polish their resume. Thereby, chances of working in foreign companies or non-government organisations will open for them. Also, communities can be beneficial from these projects. Children living in these areas, for example, in their first time learn how to read and write from enthusiastic foreign teachers, which makes them excited and long for learning.

In conclusion, it seems to me that desire to make the world a better place and chance to live in different cultures are the two reasons for young people help poor communities. Both these people and communities are beneficial from these projects.