More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in
communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses.
Why? Who benefit from this, the community or these young people?
It is true that a growing number of young people from affluent countries are doing temporary jobs
without payment in less wealthy countries. Reasons for this vary, and I believe that both these
young individuals and the community reap the benefits.
There are several reasons why the youth in rich nations tend to do unpaid work in less affluent
countries. Chief among them is the growth of the aviation industry. The emergence of low-cost
airlines allows young individuals who are on a tight budget to travel to remote corners of the
world. For example, having a voluntary foreign English teacher in Sapa, a mountainous area in
Vietnam, used to be far-fetched several decades ago, but cheap carriers such as Tiger Airlines
and Jetstar Airlines have made it happen. Another reason is the spread of information. The
development of technology has brought images and the living condition of poor communities to
the richer world, which creates an urge for the young to take action. Many graduates decide to
take a year out to help the inhabitants of poverty-stricken countries partly because of the
television programs and the news they watch and read.
Doing unpaid jobs pays dividends for both young volunteers and the community. On the one
hand, young people can experience the life of indigenous people, gain hands-on experience and
enjoy the breathtaking view of the places where they work. They may then come back to their
normal life and decide on the career path that they want to pursue. On the other hand, people in
poor countries might benefit from the work of young citizens from rich nations. Knowledge
received can have lasting effects on the locals’ future, while housing built will provide a better
living condition than before.
In conclusion, various factors contribute to the influx of young volunteers to poor communities.