More big shopping malls are being built and replace small shops. Is this a positive or negative development?

There are currently a great number of big shopping malls in term of replacing small shops. While this trend can be positive to some extent, I would argue that it is more negative.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why more clear large malls that are being constructed. Firstly, a significant increase in need of buying brand new goods in recent years. As a result, there are more spacious sites to display these types of goods and attract more clients that are available to spend more money on them. If there no big shopping malls, customers do not have more options to choose. Secondly, with a large number of goods having the same functions, which often causes the big reduction of price. Therefore, consumers could pay less money to own a product. For instance, customers could choose to buy a washing machine that is manufactured by Panasonic due to its cheaper price instead of Samsung.

On the other hand, small shops have more valuable advantages. Firstly, nowadays people from big cities such as Sai Gon or Ha Noi have to work more time. As a result, after long working hours, they quickly need to buy some types of foods from convenient shops that are near their homes to prepare for dinner. This causes time-saving for commuters. For instance, it takes about 15 minutes for my wife to purchase foods for dinner from Seven Eleven shop near our location. Secondly, the chains of convenient shops open 24 hours a day. Therefore, they help to satisfy the needs of customers whenever. If there no the chains of small shops such as Circle K and K-Mart, people often have troubles in buying foods in the evening. Finally, a considerable increase in the number chains of convenient shops that help to hire more laborers working at night shifts. This leads to the reduction of the rate unemployment in the economy. For instance, students could earn more money for their tuition fees with a job at a small shop.

In conclusion, while this tendency has some clear benefits for customers, I believe that small shops’ advantages are greater.