More people put their personal information online (addresses, telephone number …) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays an increasing number of Internet users leave their digital footprints for daily activities, such as communicating on social webpages or making payment with individual bank accounts. In my opinion, this is completely a positive trend.

That the uploading of personal data can cause harm to users might be reasonable. The primary reason is that there are various types of nuisances. The users can be frequently harassed with unwanted information. One particular example is the everyday annoying emails announcing huge rewards or marketing current products, which bothers the recipients a great deal. Also, the users’ personal names or other details could be hacked for the purpose of identity theft and online deception. Their prestige would be destroyed and their friends might lose some sums of money if an emergency letter calling for financial support is sent to all the friend list. Hence, unprotected data are posted on media pages in a quotidian fashion is a favorable target for cyber criminals.

However, I totally believe that this is a positive development. Firstly, it brings general convenience. In today’s society, where every application is digitally standardized, the need for existing personal information is highlighted. Shoppers, for instance, can just fill a typical form before purchasing items, and their information is then saved for later time. By doing that, they can spare plenty of time for the future’s shopping activity. Also, unlike the paper forms which have to be written on several times, each piece of information is inserted to the database, which allows staff members to control and manage the data of customers more easily and systematically. Finally, it can create individual appearance. In other words, one user could gain trust from others with their available personal details uploaded on their pages. People regularly think that if there are many facts and figures associated with a user whom they are searching, then that person is automatically assumed to be reliable. The more items of personal information produced, the more trustworthy and sincere he or she is.

In summary, I strongly believe that personal data which are daily presented by Internet users is a positive trend because of the above reasons.