Most employers do job interviews before offering a position to a person. Do you think this is the best way to do it or are there better alternatives? What is the best method of choosing employees in your opinion?

In many parts of the world, companies prefer to hire candidates through personal interviews. These interviews are often pre-planned and help employers to access the personality of the interviewee. Due to its worldwide acceptance, it is undoubtedly a good method to hire people. However, I believe that other ways like writing questionnaire before an interview can be a valuable process to choose employees.

To start with, job interviews have been conducted for several years, as many companies consider it as a reliable source of interviewing. This method often allows recruitment team to assess the knowledge and personal traits of an individual. Perhaps in many profession, communication skills are crucial, which can only be judged through such interviews. For instance, occupations related to service industries, where complaint handling is an important aspect of job role, the person ought to have a good command in his interaction skills. Thus, for many industries, these interviews serve their purpose by choosing suitable employees as per their requirements.

On the other hand, in my opinion, written assessment and an interview afterwards, could be the best method to hire suitable candidates. This is because written tests help employers to comprehend the skills of the candidate, which can not be achieved merely through personal interviews. For instance, professions related to engineering, where their technical skills are valued most in the hiring process; employers can have better outcomes from conducting these tests. Alternatively, in such professions, the technical questions during an interview is limited, and one can prepare in advance to have an upperhand in a job interview. Therefore, conducting written exams can not only filter best people but also saves time in hiring process.

In conclusion, although personal interviews are widely accepted because of their better comprehension of personal assessment. However, I believe, job interviews on the top of written tests can be the most suitable process to hire better candidates.