In most parts of the world, people are living longer.

What are the possible causes of this situation?

Is this a negative or positive development?

As the technologies advances, the life expectancy is increasing for most of the countries and there are several explanations for the phenomenon. In my opinion, I think the negative impacts outweigh the benefits of this development.

Firstly, the improvement of the technologies for newborn babies is a major reason for the longer life. The dramatic decline of fatalities among babies and the invention of vaccinations significantly contribute to the increased life expectancy. Secondly, the medical advancements allow doctors to treat diseases or wounds that were thought to be fatal before. For instance, the possibility of getting an organ transplantation from donors or even printing it with 3D printers have greatly boosted the success rates for surgeries. Thirdly, the overall better quality of life is also one of the reason. Easy access to food and water and the ability to maintain personal hygiene have contributed to the wellbeing of people. Lastly, the medical advancements on caring for the elderly. All of these are the reasons behind the increased expectancy of life.

As good as it is to live longer, I believe the disadvantages of the development are much more than the advantages. Only people who can afford to pay the premium pricing of the new technologies are able to benefit from them, resulting in bigger gaps between the rich and the poor. Additionally, increased life means more people and a bigger population, which will fasten the rate that food and natural resources are consumed. Moreover, just because one can live longer does not mean that one wants to do so. Friends and families might try to keep an individual alive for their own goods rather than for the patient.

To summarize, I believe that the increasing life expectancy that comes with the technology advancements has more negative impacts than the positive ones.