As most people spend a major part of their life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

It can be seen that people nowadays have more job opportunities and the proportion of time that they spend for their work is relatively high. Therefore, job satisfaction has become an instrumental role in life of an individual. This essay will examine which can affect a job fulfillment and how realistic they are.

There are many contributing factors to the sense of contentment when people are in their workplace. First of all, a person needs to feel that they are doing a valuable job. When people are able to comprehend the value of the job they are doing, they will probably get more pleasure from it. On the contrary, if a person find their job meaningless or having no higher purpose, they may not have the motivation to work and therefore tend to quit working. Another reason for people to enjoy their work is remuneration. If a person can just have limited earnings, they still cannot satisfy with their profession since they do need money to cover their living expenses. In addition to salary, the environment of the workplace can also influence the fulfillment of a job. People usually take the atmosphere of the company into account before applying for a job as if they feel uncomfortable in that company, they cannot have a sense of belonging, which can affect their productivity. For example, young employees seem to be attracted to multi-cultural or private enterprises because their environment usually more flexible and open than the state owned enterprises.

However, due to population proliferation, there are fewer opportunities for employees to get the job they want. Hence, some of them have to work in place that is boring or not suitable with their ability and personality. These people may suffer from boredom or discontent rather than enjoyment.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that not all employees are able to enjoy their career. However, if the aforementioned factors can be implemented in every workplace, the prospect of job satisfaction is still realistic.