Most people these days prefer getting news online to reading newspaper or watching TV. Do you think it is a positive development?

Nowadays citizens of all over the world are more curious to be aware of what is happening around the globe than they used to be in last decade. There are numerous sources that provides us the latest news such as newspaper, TV and online platforms, and it has been claimed that online platforms are the most favourable way by modern citizens. Although there are a number of issues associated with it, I completely hold the view that it is a beneficial progress due to the some compelling reasons which will be discussed in detail in this essay.

To begin with, this is an undeniable fact that majority of people are suffering from hectic lifestyle and shortage of time, but, at the same time, they desire to know about news. It is not possible for them to spending so much time on reading newspaper or watching TV. Thus, they prefer online news since it is convenient, speedy and time-saving. In this way, they would be know about the news as well as saving time. For example, it needs at least an hour to watch news or read a newspaper, whereas reading a page takes 15 minutes in the worst case.

Additionally, the importance of budget is by no means negligible. The amount of money which is needed to create content on TV and newspaper is noticeably higher compared to online sites. That is mainly because, there are more factors involved in these ways than online websites. Take newspaper as an example, in order to produce a newspaper, paper, journalist and various of machines are needed, while when it comes to online way, it only requires a mobile phone and internet access. Hence, the expense of the first way is relatively higher due to the cost of staff and material.

In conclusion, becoming aware of the events happening around the world is a vital need. There are two ways possible for this aim including TV or newspaper and online platforms which the latter way is the most popular way among people, and I personally assume this is a positive change because it requires less time as well as less budget.