Motorways help people travel quickly and cover long distances but they also cause problems. What are the problems of motorways and what solutions are there?

Many countries rely on motorways as the main roads for speedy and efficient transportation because these are a very convenient way of travelling long distances. However, motorways have many negative aspects such as environmental and dangerous traffic. To solve this issue, the congestion fees and other alternative methods should be implemented.

Motorways are the convenient and easiest way to travel for long journeys. For instance, in the US, if people take a normal road to travel from New York to Washington, it would probably take more than 10 hours whereas motorways can shorten it to 4 hours. This could be possible due to the motorways’ speeding limit is higher than the normal roads and it is the direct and closest roads. From this, the time to commute can be reduced by more than half and this time can be used for other activities. Therefore, motorways are the most efficient transportation ways.

In contrast, motorways produce massive congestion and environmental damages. Since majority of cars would be willing to access these roads to take the advantage of speedy and convenient way of travel, the roads will be suffered from traffic jams. In addition to this, the massive traffic jams would have a significant impact on environments to be damaged. The massive carbon dioxide and toxic emissions released from each vehicle will be gathered at atmosphere to create global warnings. The global warnings has impacted the earth drastically as the earth cycle has been distorted. Therefore, the immediate solutions seem required.

Even though there are several ways to solve this issue, the most effective way could be the charging the congestion fees. For example, the roads between New York and Washington are connected by motorways only and in 2015 surveyed that more than 18 billion cars have passed per month. In the UK, after the congestion fess has been introduced, the number of cars using the motorways reduced by half and they expected to be continue. Thus, the congestion fee can be the effective way to solve this issue.

Also, other alternative methods should be sought to reduce the number of cars using motorways. The government can provide the mandatory programs for road safety to all drivers so that they can acknowledge of circumstances of using motorways. The governmental programs should be used along with the congestion fees so that the motorway usage can be dropped.

In conclusion, motorways have several advantages for drivers reaching the destination faster and convenient ways. However, there is a dark side of this, which are the congestion and environmental issues and which can be solved by congestion fees and governmental programs.