The movement of people from the countryside into the cities is happening in many parts of the world, resulting in the problems, especially in cities. What are the causes of this movement, and how can it be reversed

It is irrefutable that several people from rural areas these days have a tendency of migrating to metropolises and this global phenomenon is allegedly the main culprit of numerous nerve-wracking issues, especially the urban problems. From my perspective, the movement of rural people results from various causes, and actions should be taken to reverse this trend

To initiate, there is a variety of explanations for the aforementioned movement. One fundamental justification is the inappropriate distribution of occupations. It does not seem unreasonable to claim that the majority of well-paid jobs are in megacities, thereby leaving countrysides with seasonal or low-paid works. Consequently, in order to earn a living, people living in rural regions are relocating to cities with the aim of seeking a life-changing opportunity. Another reason that is worth mentioning is due to the fact that infrastructures in urban areas are much more advance when compared to the rural regions. Therefore, people from the countryside hold the belief that they will have a higher living standard and have more chance to enjoy state-of-the-art facilities, especially in the medical and education fields, if they live there.

Unfortunately, there is no magic bullet for the rural depopulation. Nevertheless, certain solutions can be taken into consideration to reverse the movement of rural people. The straightforward and effective measure is to adopt decentralisation policy by relocating manufactories and some participate kind of workplaces to the countryside. As a result, people living in rural areas can have a suitable job without moving to the cities. On the second place, the government should spend more national budget on implementing and upgrading the infrastructure in the countryside. This will be the first step to improve the faith of rural people in the local services and they will have to think twice before moving to megacities in search of a better life.

In conclusion, the migration of rural dwellers is due to the uneven job distribution together with the gap in terms of facilities between two areas. Therefore, the rural depopulation can be reversed by relocating factories to the countryside as well as upgrading the infrastructure of these places.