New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time.

Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The way youngsters’ leisure time is spent has been modernly determined by advances in technology. In my opinion, the negatives totally outweigh the positives.

Advocates of technological breakthroughs claim that some benefits can be yielded in the free time of the youth. One major upside is that they could gain more knowledge without going outside for interaction. To be more specific, all the children need to do is to sit in their private room and operate electronic devices connected to the Internet in order to absorb new information. Smart phones can enable them to exchange opinions on uploaded posts in discussion forums. Interactive TV might help them to receive quick responses for any queries they have on a particular show.

However, the downsides of the hi-tech devices are far more than the upsides, which can be obviously seen in the youth today. Firstly, social relationships are gradually deteriorated. Prior to the advent of social media, children used to directly socialize with their school fellows after class, whereas at present, they have a preference for visual contact in front of the screen. Genuine camaraderie is not valued as it was before, and is on the verge of being shattered. Because it is not easy to detect profile users, there is a number of cases with criminal intentions amid the online world, where people get involved in regular contact without perceiving the true identity of one another. Finally, physical degradation is also cause by the chronic dependence on technological gadgets. The quantity of modern day’s primary school students who are overweight is rising, threatening the future success of these young citizens. Besides, the children nowadays tend to contract many other severe health problems, including heart attacks. This is because of an inactive lifestyle with excessive devotion to electronic devices rather than physical activities.

In summary, the way youngsters dedicate to their spare time has been altered since the invention of novel technologies. This tendency certainly exerts more negatives points than the positive ones.