New technologies have changed the way people spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the change in people’s spare time due to new technologies has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend gives humans some benefits, the drawbacks will be far more significant.

There is a huge advantage of the issue that people do not relax as they did. It is obvious that the development of technologies permits people more opportunities to broaden their minds. For example, humans can watch document films on the Internet which not only helps them unwind but also provides them a ton of useful information about many aspects of life. Moreover, by using social network in spare time, people can expand their social circle, which may help them in both life and work. For instance, if students attend some study group on Facebook, they can find friends with the same ability and interest like them and they can encourage each other to persist with their study as well as support each other with tough questions so they all of them can achieve their goals.

Despite the aforementioned positive impacts of this trend, the disadvantages will easily overshadow them. First, having more convenience entertainments makes people have a tendency to indulge in them in lieu of going out with friends to play sports or do some exercises, which makes many health problems. To illustrate, more and more children are obese due to a lack of physical exercise for a long time. Another drawback is family bonds will be weakened if traditional relaxing ways such as watching televisions with family disappear. In fact, due to the hectic pace of life, the time for family is the only spare time of people so if they substitute other activities for a family gathering, they may create a distance with other family members.

In conclusion, although changing in the way spending free time can give people some certain benefits, the drawbacks of the trend will have many diverse impacts on humans life.