News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in

newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we

become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was

reported?

Deciding the news content to show on television and what to write in newspaper are responsibilities of the news editor. In doing this, they consider the feedbacks from the people watching the broadcast as well as those reading the printed publications. As the mainstream media is filled with both good and bad news, people do not get used to news that are devastating. In fact, I believe it would be better to have more good news fill the media space.

While having a television broadcast, most news shows give room for viewers to leave comments stating their views on the content being addressed. Similarly, printed newspapers solicit for feedbacks by giving an address to send their thoughts for people who prefer reading. By doing this, the pattern of comments is reviewed by the editors as they want more people to tune in to their news channel as well as an increase in the number of readers. This will possibly inform the content to be broadcast to the viewers. For instance, realizing the low interactions gotten from a popular news channel on upcoming movies announcement, the editors removed the segment and focus on the news about the personal lives of some celebrities which have generated more comments and viewership.

Despite having more than half of the news shared on Television and newspapers as unpalatable, we have not gotten used to the bad emotions they trigger. Over time, I have come to see my mother reacts to the news of kidnapping and insecurity plaguing the northern part of Nigeria the same way in diverse dramas. Getting more good news on the mainstream media would be of more benefit to the society. An example is showing news of how people take care of stray pets. By doing this, most people will be inclined to help one another and spread kindness within the community.

In conclusion, news editors take into consideration the feedbacks gotten from their shows and newspaper to determine the content being broadcasted either bad or good. In reading bad news, people have not gotten to the emotional breakdown and in a bid to disperse kindness in the society, it would be better to share more good news on these platforms.