The news media plays an important role in modern societies. Why are they important? Do they have a positive or negative influence?

These days, public debate has been going on over whether media are playing or not a major role in our society. While I think that the latters are significant in the world of today, I are sure that their influence is not always positive for people and countries.

It obvious that news media, such as newspapers, radio and TV, are in the center of our lives. There is no doubt that the vast majority of the population is reading the newspaper, or watching the TV. It is clear that one hundred years ago, it used to be very difficult to know all news item, with a lack of technology. Indeed, TV appears only in the 60’s. However, the apparition of the Information and communications technology in the 90’s was one of the most important innovation that the whole-world ever known.

One need only look at the World Wide Web to see that wa have an unlimited access to informations. This is due to the fact that information is currently free on the internet, with the apparition of websites, blogs and applications. Moreover, we only need today the internet and a smartphone to access to newspaper, radio, tv and blogs. All in all, we got used to access to information everywhere and at any moment, with only the internet. That is why we can say that news media are playing an key role in the world of today.

On the other side of the debate though, we may claim that media’s role can be positive, but also negative. As far I am concerned, the negative view may be based on the consideration that a wide range of newspapers are not genuine, such as tabloids. The formers win money with gossips and scandals, and don’t often respect for private and family life. Moreover, they can provide a biased reporting to the population, and manipulate them. An even more significant factor that should be taken nto account is that medias are companies, and their aim is to make benefits.

However, medias can also play positive role in the society. They provide us a wide-range of informations, and give us the opportunity to confront ideas. Otherwise, a lot of them are serious – likes broadsheets-, whereas others are not. They can also be a counter-power when some injustice are committed. All in all, it seems true that they are playing a good role, therefore they can also be negative and embarrassing.

In summary, there is no doubt that the role played by news media is among the most important in the world of today. While some of them are genuine and interesting, I am convinced that the others don’t help us to live quietly.