News plays an important part in most people's lives and news media has become more influential in people's lives. Why do you think this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

The topic of news having a larger impact on the lives of citizens as well as growing more and more popular has been widely debated in recent years. There are a number of reasons behind this tendency and while some people may support the growth of this phenomenon, I am of the opinion that this is a negative advancement.

The major role of news in people's lives could be attributed by several ideas. The first reason is that for some people, especially in rural areas, news is considered the main source of information, if not to mention the only source. This could be explained by the fact that other sources of information are not as widely distributed and accessible as news because the funding to make that possible will be enormous and it is deemed unnecessary, unlike other purposes such as education or infrastructure building. Another reason for this phenomenon is that since a long time ago, news has always been recognized as the official information source from the people in authority or the government. Consequently, citizens will tend to put their trust more in the news, resulting in a growing impact of news on the lives of people.

Personally, I deem this notion a negative advancement for the fact that it takes away the healthy debate from the conversation. With news posing as the only source of information, people would only have access to a story from one perspective, completely lacking a multifaceted outlook on a problem. In the long term, the citizens will eventually form a biased view in favor of those authorized the onset of the news. This could be perfectly exemplified in the case of the Chinese government banning all international sources of information outside of their country. The Chinese people, living with government-approved news, and social media..., have long been completely and utterly oblivious to the real events happening internationally and as a result, will defend their government blindly instead of thinking otherwise.

To conclude, it í clear that news media í embarking on becoming more popular among the people and as a result, is gaining a huge impact on their lives. However, I personally believe it is a negative trend as it could potentially lead to dictatorship by governing the news in favor of one party.