Now that there are no unknown places left on Earth that individuals can explore, exploration has taken the form of overcoming physical challenges. What is your opinion of this development?

It becomes an interesting topic nowadays about the world exploration. Some wonder why humans had lots of effort to discover unknown places in the past and why the purpose of exploration have changed these days. What are the consequences of the exploration? All of these questions will be discussed carefully.

There are several reasons behind the idea of exploration. It can be related to human instinct as humans want to ensure the continuation and success of our genes in this world. This tendency can be seen from prehistoric humans as they always traveled searching food sources and eventually moved to settle in a better condition area.

However, in the 16th to 18th centuries, the intentions of exploring the world have changed to political and religious reasons. Many European countries, expanding the prestige, conquered many poorer countries and introduced their religions to local people. Later on, these employers took advantages from natural resources in under-control regions by trading exotic products such as ivory, herb or spices. After that, the main objective of exploration had started improving the stock of information and understanding about physical and natural aspects rather other points. The fast improvements of science was also related to the consequences of exploration. For instance, discovering Galapagos island had proved the Darwin theory and revealed biological knowledge.

Consequently, nowadays, reaching isolated regions has shifted to become more in an extreme measure such as limiting a journey time or travelling alone as more people can explore frequently. This is because, humans still love achieving an extra-ordinary goal and want to be exceptional. Some desire to earn named and fame from challenging themselves in the furthest continents. Personally, the isolated regions should be protected from intruders, preserving the ecosystem for indigenous creatures.

Although there are several beneficial aspects from this advance such as food supplies and scientific improvements, the excessive exploration from humans tremendously affect to the beauty of nature and the diversity of plants and animals in isolated regions.