Nowadays, animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animal to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a controversy surrounding the use of animal for laboratory experiments in curative medicine over the years. While some individuals believe such acts are inhuman and therefore be condemned, others think it is generally beneficial to mankind. Both sides will be discussed in this essay and reasons will be given why the latter stance appears to hold more water.

On the one hand, proponents of the former belief claim that animal testing does not only bring unjustified suffering to the subjects involved, but also that humans does not have the moral obligation to subject these animals to torture all in the name of developing medicines or publishing research papers. For instance, many pre-clinical students in Africa are sometimes required to bring a specie of rodent; multimammate rat to the lab for the purpose of gathering information required to publish a yearly medical journal. Such animals gets subjected to unjust sufferings and are caged up for weeks without food while some eventually die in certain conditions.

On the other hand, supporters of animal testing claim the aforementioned downside can easily be overlooked because this practice can prove to be lifesaving, which one cannot agree any more. Carrying out test using animals have resulted in undisputed breakthrough especially in clinical and therapeutic medicine. For example, many drugs and vaccines targeted against the COVID-19 virus are required to go through the animal trials phase before they are endorsed for human use. Scores of these medical products have several undesirable side effects that could even be fatal if not properly tested and controlled using these animal. Besides, humans are higher than these animals on the food chain and as such have the liberty to experiment using them so long it is beneficial to mankind.

In conclusion, while the opinion of other may differ, I believe the use of animal for testing is one that can be fully supported beside it is key in determining the efficacy and safety of drugs and vaccine for human and should therefore be encouraged.