Nowadays congestion and traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be the solution, in your opinion?

Lifestyle in the cities has undergone dramatic changes over recent decades. Presently, the problem of traffic jams is spreading its roots in every nook and corner of the cities. Therefore, some people advocate that the establishment of extensive roads is a lucrative panacea to address this worrying issue. Here, i would like to discord with the given statement.

There are manifold points to endorse my view. First and foremost, nowadays, most of people travel by their personal cars and it leads to rise in the number of traffic jams. Therefore, It is a prime duty of government to discourage people towards the excessive usage of cars in order to restrain this burning issue. What is more, providing better facilities of public transport could be fruitful to take over traffic concerns. To demonstrate, the services of buses and trains should be frequent so that people can travel on time easily without any inconvenience. Adding to it, all it is imperative to make transport modes less crowded, neat and clean by taking proactive steps. Consequently, people will be encouraged towards using public vehicles and it will help to curb traffic congestion.

Furthermore, making flyovers is likely to reduce the problem of gridlocks at larger extent. To be specific, the presence of flyovers can restrict the number of cars in the city centre. Besides this, flyovers can prevent the entry of cars on busy roads. Hence, it is required to make flyovers to control traffic. Last but not least, a large number of trees will be cut down due to construction of wider roads. As a result, it will be detrimental for ecology. On the contrary, others have contrasting arguments.

They think that wider roads could assist to reduce the number of gridlocks. To justify, roads will not get flooded with a large number of vehicles if there is ample space to travel easily. What is more, the chances of accidents will decline on the roads. Hence, the number of jams caused by accidents will be no more in existence.

To recapitulate, undeniably, extensive roads are worthwhile to combat the concern of traffic. However, this is not the only solution, governments must take some other remedial measures to nip this issue in the bud.