Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this.

Why is this happening?

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

Family members used to be intimate with each other in the past. However, individuals now seem to increasingly isolate from their family. In my opinion, this phenomenon happens under certain social backdrop. And the curse brought by this trend outweighs its blessing.

The main reason for the isolation from family is the changes in lifestyles. First, the prevalence of smartphones has dramatically increased people’s screen time. Instead of talking to family in person, people prefer to watch short videos and posts via social media. That leads to a drop of family quality time as a result. Another reason is that people now tend to live by their own. Unlike families in past whose members were living together in a big house, people nowadays live in a loft or small house. Therefore, they can hardly see their families on a daily basis, which also results in less intimacy among families.

Though being independent from family may have some advantages, I personally think that the disadvantage is more vital. Individuals who are less bounded to their family may enjoy more private space, and they might be free from some boundaries. However, humans are social creatures who always crave for accompany and connection. Without the sense of security provided by the close family tie, people may suffer from loneliness and isolation, which would eventually amount to mental health issues. In modern society, psychological problems have become increasingly severe. It is the high time to reconsider individuals’ relationship with their family.

In conclusion, modern lifestyles have changed how people connect with their family. Considering the mental health concerns, the drawback of this phenomenon outweighs its advantage. It is better for people to rethink their relationship with their family.