Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In modern society’s today, worldwide tourism which is the biggest sector in the global economy leads to many nerves between the local and foreign visitors. While others say that more conflicts will happen, I would argue that raising inhabitants’ awareness from various cultures could be gained more.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why international tourism results in many nervous issues between both sides. The first reason is that tourists those who ignore conservations and the traditional values of other countries tend to jeopardize historical monuments. These visitors, for instance, often draw pictures on the wall of ancient buildings being constructed thousands of years ago, and they also deliberately litter at their convenience. All of which makes the local depress foreign tourists as well as not welcoming them. Moreover, the lack of safety in the tourism sites of nations has driven many thefts and pickpocketing related to tourists; therefore they keep unfriendly attitudes to local people.

On the other hand, I believe that worldwide tourism heightens people’s consciousness of countries’ cultures more. Firstly, besides travelling to stunning sceneries, tourists may adapt to new cultural features such as having traditional foods and experiencing to wear costumes which they share to their friends and relatives. Hence, this helps promote the images and evoke understanding of nations as well. In addition, frequently interacting to tourists, the local has the chances to adopt novel ideas, stimulating their curiosity and encouraging themselves to open horizons. Stories about modern civilizations from visitors, for example, would lead to the local presidents’ expansion of social circles, the needs of acquiring foreign languages and real-life experiences through travelling overseas.

In conclusion, although there are tensions having occurred to both local citizens and visitors with the development of international tourism, I am the opinion that this industry sensitize people from distinct cultures more.