Nowadays, many older people choose to live in retirement communities rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

For the past few years, there has been a significant increase in the number of older people who opt for living in a care home with other people instead of living with their adult children. Although this trend has been seriously criticised as being opposed to our long standing tradition, I strongly argue that it can make a positive contribution to the development of society.

At the outset, living in retirement communities or care homes with people at the same age is highly likely to diminish the possibilities of health problems in older people. Initially, in regard to physical health, are there not only many nurses who take care of older people’ health situations but this retirement community also assists them in creating good habits and offers the best medical facilities. Furthermore, as opposed to living with adult children, being around their friends, old colleagues provides old people chances to talk freely, to share every problem in their life and is less likely to cause disagreements. This definitely can exert a positive impact on older people’ health, increasing their living expectancy.

Furthermore, adult children also benefit from it as they can spend their whole time on their career without worrying about their old parents staying at home.

Moreover, this trend also plays a critical role in the sustainable development of the society, creating a more civilised world for human beings. First and foremost, older people, those who have dedicated their life changing the world, are respected and able to get access to the best living facilities and health services. They are capable of living independently from their children, and having control over the rest of their life. In addition to that, more and more retirement communities are built up, in all likelihood, this will create more job opportunities, contribute to put a curb on the increasing rate of unemployment among young people.

To conclude, in my point of view, I wholeheartedly support this trend as not only old people but also the whole society can reap a lot of benefits from it.