nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the the reasons? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that nowadays many couples have delayed parenthood until a later time of their life. There are some reasons for this tendency and in my opinion, the drawbacks of this are eclipsed by the benefits that it might bring.

The main the reason why people are tending to have children at a later stage of life is that they have some concerns of more priority before they have babies. Having children means that parents have to spend a considerable amount of time for their family, which would in some cases impede their chances of career progression. Due to the fact that competition in labor market is now more intense than the past, young people have to work long hours to keep their job and get promotion. Thus they do not have much time for raising kids (building a family) and consequently decide to have kids when they already have a stable career. Another reason is that bringing up children requires good financial conditions as the cost of living and the prices of education are on the increase. Therefore people prefer to wait until they have an adequate financial accumulation to provide their children.

The trend towards raising a family later in life entails both advantages and its downsides. Many people concerns that this would widen the gap between generations and leads to the situation wherein parents find it more difficult to understand and communicate with their children. Besides, some health problems are more likely to occur to an aged pregnant woman than a younger one. However, I believe the advantages of this trend are far more greater. As mentioned above, Parents may see the benefit of this trend as their career progressions are not interrupted by having a child. In addition, children of experienced and matured parents are received better upbringing and stable financial support.

In conclusion, many couples choose to delay having babies to focus on their career and accumulate an adequate financial condition and it is generally beneficial for them and their children as well.