Nowadays, more and more people want to travel to remote areas such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this type of travel outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people wanting to visit remote areas such as the South Pole. While this trend has some great benefits, I would argue that it could have some clear drawbacks to the tourists.

One the one hand, there are some advantages of travelling to isolated natural places. Firstly, since going to other cities or countries might be too common to some individuals, visiting to places such as the Sahara desert or the South Pole can bring more excitement to the travelers. This allows them to acquire valuable knowledge and gain unique experiences. Secondly, travelling to remote areas can help people, especially scientists and researchers, learn more about the natural habitat. For example, when going to Amazon rainforest, travelers have a chance to watch some types of plants and animals which can only live in this forest.

One the other hand, I strongly believe that this tendency has much more serious drawbacks. First, due to the poor conditions of the isolated natural areas, going to these places can be risky and dangerous for the tourists. For instance, the temperature in the South Pole is too low, which could negatively affect travelers’ heath. When visiting a rainforest, visitors might have to face a risk of being attacked by wild animals. Additionally, because travelling to remote areas need a large amount of money to ensure the safety, the costs of visiting these places are usually high. As a result, only researchers and rich people can afford this activity.

In conclusion, while travelling to isolated natural places can bring about some great benefits, I believe that the drawbacks of this trend are much more serious.