Nowadays more and more researches are being carried out and sponsored by private organizations Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages in such cases

It is true that in the current scenario more private firms come forward to spend money for research. Some people have an opinion that it brings more benefits for mankind, while, others oppose it and say the disadvantages are more. This essay discusses advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon.

The people who support the benefits of research by private organization put forward some relevant points to make their stand clear. First and foremost, multi- national companies are rich enough to invest in research programs. In the past, all the researches were funded by governments. However, these researches were funded poorly as the governments have so many other important responsibilities towards the public such as education and health care sector. Many researches run currently, which need a bulk amount of money to complete, only can be funded by private firms. For example, research to invent an effective medicine for the dangerous disease AIDS is now funded by private drug companies. If government spend money in the drug for AIDS, they may not fulfill their promise to the public in other areas. Another important point is the attractive salary package offered to scientists by big companies, which attract a lot of talented youngsters to this profession. Before youngsters were not interested in become a scientist as the salary package by governments very less.

The people who talk about the disadvantages counter the above arguments with some genuine reasons. Firstly, research results are not safe with private companies. Many companies used these results for profit gaining instead of using it for mankind well- being. For instance, private firms stop other companies or government to produce new drugs so that they can earn huge profit from their invention.Secondly, they will alter some results in favor of them. For instance, research about cosmetic products by companies are almost all fake. However, a government cannot control these companies and prove their finding is wrong because of huge expenditure in these reseaches.

To conclude, I feel the disadvantages are more comparing to advantages.