Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries.

What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

Science is a collection of humanity’s knowledge and experience. Thus, people apply it in researching and developing something in order to make our life better. However, in some countries, there is a scarcity of students that want to major in science nowadays. This is because they find it too challenging and so it puts a strain on public life.

Generally, science students are supposed to be patient and diligent which is not true for all of them. For instance, many undergraduates oftenly use already published works in their research instead of conducting their own. Moreover, the amount of effort they put into graduating with honours does not guarantee a job. Modern science field is extremely competitive and so the number of available occupations is limited, which makes taking up science less appealing to future generations.

Regarding the possible impact, the decrease in science graduates would reflect in a lower number of qualified workers. There are many job spheres in our society like healthcare and power supply that are dependent on science. Therefore, not only would countries suffer from lack of human resources, other industries would suffer as well. Furthermore, people would not be able to live longer due to the lack of new and improved things that expand our lifespan. For example, better healthcare and living conditions are essential for a modern person to live a happy long life.

In conclusion, demanding studies and an overly competitive market are the main reasons that discourage children from choosing science in universities, which would result in shorter lifespan and scarcity of human resources. Without scientists, people would miss an opportunity to live better and more fascinating lives.