Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In several parts of the world, there is currently a lack of students choosing to study science in universities and colleges. This problem happens due to some reasons, and it can have some adverse impacts on society.

There are several reasons why university students are less likely to choose science as their major in their universities. One reason is that the syllabus of science class makes the incredible pressure for learners. For example, young students who follow the science curriculums in Vietnam are required to complete a lot of essays as well as researchs and they have to devote almost their time in labs for essential experiments which prevent them from enjoying their life with outdoor activities. In addition, as there are currently fewer employment opportunities available for graduates in science fields, learners are less likely to decide to select these majors.

Not enough students for science curriculums cause some effects on society. The first impact is that when fewer students decide to learn about science, there would be a serious shortage of employees working in these fields. This would lead to fewer technological developments, which would also prevent improvements in people’s life quality. For instance, it would be difficult for humans to produce newer smart phones with better functions. Secondly, the lack of students majoring in science is the main cause interrupting science courses in many universities. For example, if the number of students needed to start one science class is 15 people, this course can not be opened until at least 15 students apply for this class.