Nowadays people live longer after they retire. How does this affect individuals and
society? What can be done about this?
As average life expectancy rises, people are living longer and longer after retirement, which
poses a number of problems for individuals and society. But, these tensions can be remedied
through government action.
People retiring older can lead to conflict between individuals and an increased burden on
society generally. For the young, the process of fully integrating older people into society can
be challenging. For example, many older people have quieter lifestyles, and disputes may arise
with younger individuals who are in the habit of hosting loud parties or coming home late at
night, particularly in cases where young people are taking care of older relatives. The strain on
society can also be great as older people require more medical support to treat conditions
ranging from arthritis to cancer to heart disease. This translates to a greater proportion of taxes
going to the older generation and can foster societal resentment and ageism.
The best fixes for these problems can be achieved by governmental actions. Firstly,
governments can ease the integration of generations by providing better retirement plans for
individuals. For example, in the United States, social security benefits are rarely enough to
cover retirement, so many must depend on their children. As for society, governments must be
more conscientious in planning for more substantial medical expenses. The government should
anticipate this trend only continuing in the future and set aside funds to research and apply
advanced treatments for retired citizens well into their 80s. These measures combined would
alleviate some of the weight of supporting older populations.
In conclusion, the pressures resulting from growth in the average lifespan can be countered
with forward-thinking governmental policy. This will only become more important in the future
as people live even longer.