Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

The intimate connection between education and work has raised much concern among members of the public. Some claim that having qualified degrees from universities is much likely to assure employees a good job than gaining a lot of experience. There are a number of reasons leading to this and I, however, suppose it brings companies and the employees themselves significant drawbacks.

To begin with, it is such a common trend for most organizations to consider qualifications as basic admission criteria when one applies into a specific vacancy. These act as a more reliable and immediate evidence to prove a candidate having enough intellectual abilities as well as a thorough understanding of academic knowledge. In fact, students in universities have a chance to get exposed to different types of theoretical knowledge in forms of a case study. Not only do their teachers deliver well-prepared lessons within classrooms, but they can also apply what learned into practice when conducting experiments or carrying surveys in real life. As a results, students with excellent performance at school earn flying colors, making their qualifications more appealing to recruiters.

Nevertheless, solely relying on certificates or degrees could not provide managers deep insights into the working potentials of applicants. Workers having been entering the workforce for years are able to gain such valuable information about the market of their industry. They have the capacity to cope with unpredictable changes of customers' behaviors or sudden shifts in terms of economic crisis. Such knowledge is certainly not taught in schools as every organization owns a distinct culture and encounters its own problems. Language teachers, for example, could only know how to create their efficient lesson plans when spending ages of their working career on conducting tests on true learners. Meanwhile, a successful doctor cannot secure his or her reputation without years of researching and experimenting different ways to cure some diseases.

In conclusion, biases should not be drawn towards either formal qualifications or working experience but throughout considerations based on different abilities of employees are the keys to effective recruitment procedures.