Nowadays, there is a trend that media reports focus on problems and emergencies rather

than a positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and

to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the media reports tend to emphasize on issues and emergencies rather than a positive improvement. It is a common belief that it causes detrimental effect on individuals and society. I wholeheartedly believe the same thing. This essay will address the reasons for my views as follow.

First of all, people can feel depressed and young people, especially teenagers are terrified by the outside world. Since people just see issues and emergencies splashed all over the media, they lose belief of life, they suppose that life is horrifying and there is no room for happiness. For example, youngsters may get discourage to start up their own businesses because they have seen a variety of companies running out of businesses. Therefore, the economy will experience the considerable depression and the number of people who are unemployed will gradually increase.

Secondly, individuals have difficulty moving forward because of the mindset formed by negative points of view on media. They keep their thought that the society is always unfair, hence, their attempts are useless and there is no point putting great efforts into work. On TV news or films, it is often heard that favoritism and corruption are almost everywhere in firms or government agencies. For instance, people who work conscientiously will never compete against people whose fathers or mothers are the presidents of the companies. Because of that reason, people hardly make efforts to move their career ladder or achieve their goals.

In conclusion, people will face a huge number of obstacles if they are continued exposing to the negative sides of society on news regularly. For these reasons, I strongly believe that, the media should look at the society under more optimistic eyes.