Nowadays university education is very expensive Some people say that universities should reduce their fees especially for the less fortunate students or those coming from rural areas To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In today's world, tertiary education is extremly expensive so not anyone can afford, someone say that tution fees should be lower for some special students. I partly agree with this point of view.

First and foremost, in two recent years, because of Covid-19, the global economy has sufferred a downturn, labour is one of the most vulnerable class in this cirrcumstance so they can not pay the tution fees, in that cases i think the tution fees should be reduced. Moreover, in a knowledge-based society, if you get a formal qualification, it is much easier for you to get a stable job, it beneficial for society to have more educated people so the chance to access university education need to be widened for everyone from everywhere as long as they are good enough. For example, Germany or Iceland are two of most developed country in the world and one of the biggest reason is that university eduction of them are all free of charge.

On the hand, there are some reasons that make me think the tution fees just have to be reduced for some students in some special situation not for all.

Firstly, operating a university, they must pay for many kinds of utilities such as water,electricity.study room, lecturers's salary,..etc, which come from tutions fees, Furthermore, a university can be considered as a business which have to create profit if don't the failure is whay they would face with.

To sum up, tution fees need to be reduce but just in certain extent to protect the university's revenue as well as utilities for students.