Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the type of relationships people make? Has this become positive or negative development?

The development of society leads to new technology innovation, therefore, the means of communication has changed day by day. Instead of using traditional ways to interact, modern technology makes a significant impact on people’s relationships in both positive and negative effects.

More than half of a century ago, the main way of interaction was meeting face to face, sometimes they had to leave messages because of an unpredictable/unscheduled plan or sending letters, which took more time for transportation. Recently, supported by upgraded devices, making an appointment has become easier by message or email notifications, as well as communicating indirectly by making a phone call. Moreover, apps on the internet platform such as google-meeting or zoom provide a place where people can hold a conference, especially during the social distancing period.

Modern means of interaction have gradually replaced the old traditional ones and the influence has proved clearly over decades. Not only saving time and money whenever sending letters, but also convenience and accurate, people can connect with whoever over the world. Besides, this development has increased the love and empathy among members of family or friends. However, unanticipated impacts have grown bigger and bigger among the youth when we recognize the sign of abusing social media. Adolescents tend to live a separate lifestyle without going out to see their friends or relatives because they have smart devices which provide whatever apps they want.

In conclusion, the development of high-tech interaction has replaced most conventional communication, which positively affects people and reveals some uncontrolled negative influence.