Nowadays young people deliberately damage public places. Why is it happening? What could be solution for it

In today’s world , there is a rising phenonmenon of young people engaging in vandalistic activities,mostly targeting public properties. From my perspective, various factors can be ascribed to this kind of behaviour, and society can take steps to mitigate with the problem.

To begin with, there are many contributors to vandalism. First of all, vandalism can stem from the lack of social activities in the area. The youth, by nature are energetic, meaning that they always seek for activities to help release their energy, or simply relieve boredom. Another causing factor of vandalistic behaviour derives from the youth low self-esteem.This is due to the fact that some young people are in the belief that they can become impressive by causing damage to properties. Finally, vandalism can be instrumental, which is a behaviour , or an action to achieve a specific goal such as stealing items in order to sell.

However, there are several actions that society can take to deal with the problem described above. The first solution would be to make young vandalisers responsible for the crime that they commited. This should be based on the severity of the damage , and the appropriate age to receive punishment. Moreover, young people who committed vandalism should be reeducated. This can discourage them from reoffending. The second measure would involve the state investing in youth services facilities such as sports club, or social groups. This would allow the youth to channel their energy not only better, but also more efficiently.

In sum, the reasons for young people to vandalise vary. However, various measures can be taken to tackle the issues.