Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The modern time when the living standard of a huge number of people rises and their hobbies and interests get fulfilled on a frequent basis. Shopping centers are among the most chosen places for young adults to spare time. Despite the detrimental impact on particular individuals, I believe shopping habit brings many advantages to our mental health.

On the one hand, many state that a lot of members of the young generation are overwhelmed by the attractiveness and joy that can be found at recreational centers such as the malls. High school students, in particular, account for the highest proportion of shoppers who are blamed to cause conflicts or even commit crimes at shopping malls. Such people usually come from a privileged family where financial issue is barely a big matter to them. In fact, a shopping addicts can use millions of dollars to have a sense of satisfaction in terms of experiencing all the designer clothes from famous brands. Their shopping time could overlap their school hours; in other words, they are more likely to skip classes quite often. As a result, their academic performance will drop significantly.

On the other hand, it is an undeniable fact that going shopping is a way to enjoy our life as well as to efficiently release tension from work or study. In practice, young people with modern and active lifestyle, especially those who wish to contribute to their own countries, would wisely allocate their money to purchase specifically costly fashion items but can be used in an extended period. This not only do they have more benefits in the long run, but their appropriate spending helps to promote manufacture and commerce and mostly leads to national economic growth. Regarding the society level, this behavior creates more jobs for the workforce and even opens promising paths for international companies to consider investing in the domestic market.

To conclude, I am of the idea that spending time at shopping malls plays a vital role for the nation's income and young people's mental health.