Nuclear energy is a better choice for meeting increasing demand. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the face of environmental pollution and climate change, there has been an urgent demand for a new sustainable source of energy. And nuclear energy has been suggested as one of the most reliable sources to take into consideration. Nevertheless, in my point of view, I am strongly opposed to the idea of implementing nuclear energy into our daily life due to its infeasibility along with the potential risks it may bring.

At the outset, the highly sophisticated nuclear power plant is highly likely to make both the government and investors less inclined in investing and developing nuclear energy. Initially, there is no denying that the process of constructing a new power plant can discourage people from putting all time and resources into building it. Not only does this project require multi-billion dollar infrastructure but it is also involved in the complicated and difficult procedure of licensing and regulation approvals. Besides, in all likelihood, investors will find it challenging to recruit highly professional and experienced workers in order to meet a strict requirement of plant construction. Secondly, the extremely prohibitive cost of operation owing to regulations including maintenance, staff levels, training throughout the year will make it nearly impossible for many governments to afford and continue this project.

Furthermore, nuclear energy is also likely to pose potentially dangerous threats to both the environment and human beings. It can easily be seen that local thermal pollution from waste water will definitely exert a negative impact on marine life which has been seriously affected by other sources of energy. Moreover, the lack of experience in managing and operating safely a nuclear plant may result in malfunction of these plants, and catastrophic accidents. This has been proven to leave a life-long impact on people’s health, destroy the ecosystem in certain areas as well as put the energy industry into turmoil.

To conclude, I strongly disagree that humans should opt for nuclear energy for a sustainable and environmentally friendly source of energy.