In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.Discuss both th

Quite a number of people believe that the government should invest in constructing new high-speed railway networks that link other cities together. Others, however, argue that the money should be put towards developing the current public transport systems. This essay will discuss why public transport is indeed significant but why high-speed railway systems are more advantageous.

A number of people agree that financing the construction of railway systems is a waste of time, money and labor for several reasons. First of all, these railway connections would provide no benefit if the existing public transport system is inadequate. For instance, one has no need for a train to another city if he or she cannot take the bus to the local town square. Second of all, many people may have family or jobs located only a few blocks away and therefore do not require a train that will take them a considerable distance. In these circumstances, it would be vital to focus on improving public transport rather than funneling money into railway systems.

However, there are several advantages to investing in new railway lines. Congestion on the road would be significantly reduced as more people would opt to take the train rather than a taxi or a bus. New railway lines would also reduce the time it takes to travel to another city, which conveniences those with businesses or jobs situated out of reachable distance. Furthermore, railway networks provide an environmental advantage; for example, fewer people would take vehicles that depend entirely on petrol, thereby substantially reducing carbon monoxide emissions. These factors alone illustrate how railway systems are superior to public transport.

In conclusion, the argument over funding into railway lines has both its negatives and its positives. This essay discussed why some view public transport more crucial, but why railway systems ultimately provide more benefits. In my opinion, investing in high-speed train systems proves beneficial not only to the population but also to the ecosystem.