In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transportDisucss both the

There is a debatable issue regarding budget allocation for transportation sector in certain countries, whether it should be allocated for establishing mass rapid train lines or should be expensed for advancement of existing public transports. I prefer it should be used for maintaining current public transport with both views described below.

On one hand, expensing remarkable amount of money for constructing new railway lines will give benefits for commuters, who have to make daily journey from their homes, located in suburban area, to their workplaces, situated in center of the town. This is because commuter lines relatively faster rather than other public vehicles like buses and public cars. As a result, the customers of public transports spend less time journey and arrive in their destination on time without trapped by congestion. For example, in Jakarta, capital city of Indonesia, most of employees form small cities around it, such as Depok, Bogor and Bekasi, use mass rapid transport for daily commuting since it is the most effective public transports for them. Thus, the numbers of new railway trains should be improved.

On other hand, the expenditure for transportation should be spent for existing public transports, such as planes and ships, especially in archipelago countries. This is because most of islands on those countries relatively unreachable due to lack of public transport facilities to go there. Improving public transport sectors on the kind of transportation, the other sectors like education, economic, and social could be same with other region. Moreover, it can reduce the gap of condition between center of government regions and boundary areas. For instance, Republic of Indonesia government, currently, is developing sea transportation and air transportation to reach islands where located on boundary areas in order to keep monitor the latest condition there and make them accessible by surrounding regions like island in Maluku province. Hence, it is prominent to build existing public transports in those countries.

In short, although it might seems sensible that making budget expenditure for trains, I believe, in certain countries, allocate it for improving current transport vehicles will be more effective.