The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live think and behave However some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life To what extent do you agree or disagree w

It is true that many older people believe in traditional values that often seem incompatible

with the needs of younger people. While I agree that some traditional ideas are outdated,

I believe that others are still useful and should not be forgotten.

On the one hand, many of the ideas that elderly people have about life are becoming less

relevant for younger people. In the past, for example, people were advised to learn a

profession and find a secure job for life, but today’s workers expect much more variety and

diversity from their careers. At the same time, the ‘rules’ around relationships are being

eroded as young adults make their own choices about who and when to marry. But perhaps

the greatest disparity between the generations can be seen in their attitudes towards

gender roles. The traditional roles of men and women, as breadwinners and housewives,

are no longer accepted as necessary or appropriate by most younger people.

On the other hand, some traditional views and values are certainly applicable to the

modern world. For example, older generations attach great importance to working hard,

doing one’s best, and taking pride in one’s work, and these behaviours can surely benefit

young people as they enter today’s competitive job market. Other characteristics that are

perhaps seen as traditional are politeness and good manners. In our globalised world,

young adults can expect to come into contact with people from a huge variety of

backgrounds, and it is more important than ever to treat others with respect. Finally, I

believe that young people would lead happier lives if they had a more ‘old-fashioned’ sense

of community and neighborliness.

In conclusion, although the views of older people may sometimes seem unhelpful in today’s

world, we should not dismiss all traditional ideas as irrelevant.