One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages ?

Over the past years, due to the improvements of the medical system all around the world, teenagers and adults except to live more and in better conditions than the previous generation. However, as long as an individual is not able to look after themself and be independent when is old I certainly believe there are more disadvantages to every part.

To begin with, in my country if you walk into a hospital you would most likely see more elders instead of young population. In fact, this is causing a shortage of beds and those who come to the hospital severely injured might get themselves hospitalized at the hallway. Medical treatment is keeping the elderly alive, but at what costs to the others?

On top of this, one of the biggest medical problems these days is dementia. Even if old people are still in good shape, they may not be able to look after themselves. They might have to live with their children or be cared for in a foster home , which can be expensive. Elderly people do not like to be a burden, but their children can feel obliged to take care of them.

However, it must be made clear that not all of the old population is suffering of an illness. For instance, those who remained healthy can enjoy their retirement as long as they saved enough money. Studies done by British scientists revealed that wealthy grandparents tend to live their lives happier and to the fullest during their sixties and seventies. In addition, grandparents can also take care of their grandchildren which is a great benefit for working parents.

To sum up, I consider that the government should aim to keep the population as healthy as possible. No one in this world would be happy to live up to 100 years and relying on others in order to survive.