One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

In this day and age, longevity is something which bears many consideration. Due to the evolution of society, the proportion of elderly people has significantly increased. Although it can contain lots of benefits, I individually believe that there are more demerits.

On the one hand, there are two social merits that long life span can offer for both seniors and their families. Firstly, for the elderly people, as they can enjoy the company of their beloved ones for much longer time, consequently, this would immensely load their times with pleasant moments leading to strengthening the bonds between family members. In addition, families would greatly benefit from the wisdom and experience of their senior members; they can seek their guidance throughout different life aspects. For instance, your grandparents can has help you a lot to take the crucial decisions in your life, such as how to be more confident to face with huge problems, be yourself and pursue your dreams, actualize it in the future, and listen to your heart to find someone you love and you want to be beside the whole life.

On the other hand, the disadvantages are seemed to outweigh advantages. The main downside of high life expectancy is that more people will be eligible for pension while the number of people in the working age declines. This tendency will place more burden on the shrinking workforce because they now have to pay higher tax to contribute to the government budget which is later allocated to other sectors. As a consequence, the young will get more stressed, leading to a fall in their productivity at work. A further disadvantage is that increased number of senior citizens means that there is greater demand for healthcare service. According to scientists, the rate of chronic diseases such as increasing cholesterol, CKD… in the old is the highest, and they brings excruciating pains. Until now, there are not the special medicine for cancer, so it is really hard for old people who get this diseases to live a normal life with happiness because they always have to face with difficulties, worry about tomorrow, and their life becomes so monotonous, they will lose the inspiration to live and don’t want to enjoy life any more. At that time, they will feel like they are dead even though they are still alive.

In conclusion, despite the positive impact on society in terms of tightening family bonds which means prolonging life of the elderly, I hold the notion that longevity has substantially dire impacts that outweigh the positive ones.