One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outwiegh the disadvantages?

Recent decades have observed noticeable medical advancements, enabling higher life expectancy among aging populations. Although the upsides could be pronounced, the downsides could justify these.

On the one hand, there are many advantages when it comes to this trend. First, since life expectancy is growing, the society with aging population could ensue. This could ensure social cohesion and security as elderly individuals are less inclined to commit crimes. Second, old citizens have a penchant for upholding the traditional values and insitutions of the country, which holds significance of cultural distiction maintenance especially in the modern world of globalization, accelerating cultural intermingling.

On the other hand, this pattern could be fraught with many pitfalls. First, the aging population could pose great economic pressure on governments. It is implied that higher disbersements would be poured onto social services for population sustanability such as pensions, healthcare insurance, social housing, which would consitute a leage chunk of national budget. In addititon, in order to avert overpopulation, official authorities are highly likely to undertake initiatives of birth controls, which could be the severe blow to workforce. For instance, due to the one-child policy, China’s economic sectors are facing many downturns including financial insecurities and corporate collapse all stemming from the lack of young workers in workforce.

In conclusion, despite some benefits of social stability and cultural maintenance, higher lifespan among citizens could be a real threat, causing greater issues of economic damages. However, official authorites should balance the population distribution by birth regulations with greater efficiency to address the problems.