One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantageous of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The past hundred years brought about many advancement in all aspects of life, as such the medical field experienced a massive leap and with it people's longevity improved drastically thus increasing their numbers. However, not all people concur with all the merits of living longer on this earth, personally I am one of those people.

The field of medicine has been trying to improve the quality of life of the masses as far back as the medieval times. For example the Bubonic Plague, which almost wiped out all the population in Europe killing one in every three men at the time, culminated the rise of scientific medicine. Proper sanitation and waste disposal aided in halting the spread of the plague. As technology becomes more advanced in modern times and people are now experiencing better quality of life resulting to overpopulation. A main detriment of overpopulation is the depletion of resources. To begin with, as more people are living they require a more supplies of food and water, with more mouths to feed there will come a time that supplies will ran out and people will starve to death. Another disadvantage, more people connotes a rise of pollution in a certain area. Urban cities, where a huge number of people dwells, experience an increase of pollution in the air, water and even noise pollution. As a direct result of people growing older, more financial means are needed in order for them to still have a better quality of life. These funds could have more use for some other important uses, therefore neglecting other services such as education and safety for the general public.

In conclusion, as more and more people are living in this world due to the advancement of medical science, we will be faced with the ugly side of overpopulation and I am personally not warranting to further life longevity.