Only formal examinations, written or practical, can give a clear picture of a student’s true knowledge and ability at the university level. Continuous assessment like course work and projects are poor measures of student ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order to gain a qualification, some would argue that only formal assessment like written or practical tests can provide a complete picture in relations to student’s knowledge and skills in their particular study field. To counter this, I would the system of continuous assessment is equally important to measure student’s ability.

In the first place, may people say the conventional test conducting at the end of each semester is the gold standard to assess student. However, some smart student with a lot of potentials who cannot learn by reading or memorizing text books will also be re...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.