The only way to improve road safety is to impose severe punishments for driving offences Do you agree or disagree

The accidents on the road increasing tremendously day-to-day.Some people think imposing severe punishments for driving offences will decrease the rate of road accidents. However, I think , giving severe punishments for road rule violations will not solve the issue, but some other problems also tackle effectively in order to ensure a safe journey on our roads.

First and foremost is , roads in cities are congested and the number of vehicles soaring everyday. Therefore, governments have to take steps to broaden roads and should decrease the number of vehicles by imposing heavy tax for the private vehicles. When private car taxes are high , people will choose the public transports for commuting. By reducing the number vehicles on the road in this way we can cut down the number of accidents on road. The broaden roads will have enough space to all the remain vehicles , gradually the accidents on road will be reduced. For example, recently, Delhi government implemented a new rule to reduce the number of private vehicles. According to government officials there it is successful.

Moreover,instead of imposing heavy punishments,Governments should run awareness program which can explain the importance of safe driving and following traffic rules effectively. When the reasons for road accidents explained with pictures and videos, they will understand the seriousness of the problem. In addition to that, putting severe punishments was a old technique which was not s effective method. Thus, time arrived for a change this old ineffective method and should try some new approaches.In some countries in west,for instance, governments running awareness program instead of severe punishments

To conclude, governments should try some new ways tackle road accidents instead of imposing heavy punishments.