Organised tours to remote areas and community is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for people and environment.

Visitors are thriving to explore remote areas and since these areas are far from the cities organising tours to such areas is becoming popular recently. However, personally I feel that this is a positive development for the locals and will still remain positive to environment if few measures are taken correctly. This essay will discuss about opportunities generated to inhabitants by such tours and probable negative effects of the same.

To begin, it will bring fame to that area, thus making its history and culture known to the world; hence, making its existence prominent. A case in point, village in Goa had a nice history and it submerges and was abandoned by villagers to build dam, it became famous through tours and publicising it online. Moreover, locals will get a chance of promoting their business and creative art. For instance, remote areas are rich in tradition and artefacts: fishing nets, lanterns made out of wood, caps made of bamboos. Unfortunately, these crafts have less recognition and fades away with generations, such tours can help in preserving such art. Furthermore, these areas are deprived of business, keeping their capital low. They mostly thrive on family business like fishing or farming or seasonal occupation. Organised tours in such cases can be like a ray of hope providing year-round business like running restaurants, tour guides etcetera.

In contrast to this, certain factors can have negative impact on communities and environment. Firstly, unthreaded roads embracing wild grass will be gone, destroying scenic beauty. Secondly, amount of garbage produced will be increased which calls for efficient waste management. Thirdly, locals might lose interest in family business due to the interest in evergreen business provided by tours. Fourthly, rise in competition may affect harmony. Generally, remote areas are known for their simplicity. People are satisfied and they work to survive without longing for luxurious life trend might flip making people to be more competitive over years. Nevertheless, this can be avoided with understanding and management.

Negative effects add bulk to positive impacts if addressed properly. Hence, to recapitulate, although, organised tours have deleterious effects on communities advantages outweighs the disadvantages.